This year at NAIMUN, this organ is innovating and expanding to offer an International Security Coordinated Crisis, in the form of the Five Eyes intelligence apparatus. This alliance, which was based off the 1947 British-U.S. Communication Intelligence Agreement, includes the intelligence bureaus of the United States, Australia, the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. Five Eyes is an apparatus that changed the field of intelligence, international relations, and international security. In 1957, each nation is still navigating how it functions in the apparatus, and determining how to optimally balance national interests and global intelligence. In the early years of the Cold War, these nations share many of the same interests - preventing the spread of Soviet power and communist ideology. However, each must protect its own security and power, and make a national determination of how far their trust is willing to reach in this uncharted type of alliance.


In the 1957 Senate, 96 individual are elected to represent, and debate on behalf of their respective states. They will operate under modified Senate rules, and will discuss the Soviet-American and Sino-American relations, as well as US intelligence collection. Unlike the other committees, this will function as a General Assembly, with very few crisis elements and no individual crisis notes or powers. Delegates will select, debate, and write a bill addressing one topic, which will be closely related to the functionings of the other committees. This committee will function on the same timeline as the rest of the organ and the solutions passed in the Senate may affect the other four committees. As the only committee that functions in the public eye, delegate remarks, solutions proposed, and draft resolutions in the Senate may also make their way into the crisis updates in the other committees so as to simulate how legislative bodies and intelligence bureaus interact.  


Australian Joint Intelligence Board (AJIB)

The Australian Joint Intelligence Bureau (AJIB) is an organization of the foremost government, military, and cultural figures of Australia during the 1950s responsible for analysis of defense and intelligence concerning the red threat. The Bureau is brought together in committee this time to operate as a member of the Five Eyes intelligence alliance – comprised of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States – to discuss and respond to major international shenanigans in the Cold War and domestic fears of Communism.


Canadian Directorate of Security and Intelligence (CDSI)

In the midst of a hostile Cold War environment, the secret Five Eyes alliance is hard at work combatting the fierce Ruskies and their desire to spread Communism to all parts of the globe. Founded in 1946, this intelligence sharing organization is comprised of the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, and most importantly, Canada. Now in 1957, this committee will focus on developing forces in the Canadian Directorate of Secret Intelligence to coordinate with the broader anglosphere struggle against Sino and Soviet power. Delegates must navigate this treacherous time when public fear is at all time high, and secure the safety of the Canadian homeland. Beware: the course of human history is at stake!


New Zealand Secret Intelligence Service (NSIS)

The New Zealand Secret Intelligence Service (NSIS) is the fledgling intelligence-collecting body of New Zealand, which works in conjunction with the United States, Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom in maintaining global order. The NSIS, based in Wellington, New Zealand, along with the rest of the Anglosphere is particularly vested in stymying the aggressive maneuvers of communist nations, namely the Soviet Union and China. The group of five countries, known as the “Five Eyes,” is entrusted with the duty of both offensive and defensive intelligence sharing and communication to prevent security breakdowns, as well as debating both international and domestic dilemmas.


British Defence Council (BDC)

The year is 1957, and Cold War rages on. This committee takes place a decade after the formation of the Five Eyes alliance, a signal intelligence sharing organization formed as a result of the 1946 British-U.S. Communication Intelligence Agreement. The British Defense Council is one arm of the organization. The United States, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada constitute the other four countries in the alliance. The main purpose: to cooperate and monitor Sino-Soviet communication to prevent their rise in power. Specifically, the BDC centralizes all defense capabilities of the United Kingdom as they stood in 1957 during the Cold War conflict. The committee comprises cabinet officials, relevant intelligence officers, and others whom the Prime Minister deems relevant. Delegates will coordinate with the intelligence agencies of the other Commonwealth nations to address foreign and domestic threats to the UK’s interests as well as the bigger goals of the overall organization.